Copy and Reuse Courses

You can copy courses and use them as a convenient way to reuse and adapt existing course structures, materials, and content.
Once the course for the new academic year is created you’ll only have to select the content to reuse.

How to Copy a Course

Copying course materials into an existing course will add content to a course, but it will not remove existing content.
  1. Access the course you want to copy.
  2. On the Control Panel, expand the Packages and Utilities section and click Course Copy.
  3. Select Copy Course Materials into an Existing Course
  4. In the Destination Course ID box, type the course ID of the new course or Browse your available courses.
  5. Select the course materials that you want to copy over to the new or existing course.A course copy operation cannot be completed if you do not select at least one of the following areas: ContentContacts, or Settings. If you do not select one of these options, a warning appears and Blackboard Learn cannot create a new course.
  6. In the File Attachments section, select the option to copy links to:
    • Copy Links to Course Files: No copies of linked files are included in the copy. The copied course will have the same set of links and those links will point back to the original location of the link defined in the origin course.
    • Copy links and copies of the content: This will make copies of linked files, but ONLY those files that are linked. Files within the course’s home folder that are not linked to any content within the course are not included in the copy.
    • Copy links and copies of the content (include entire course home folder): This will make copies of ALL files in the course’s home folder regardless of whether those files are linked to course content.You need manage permission on an item to include copies of those files. If you do not have this permission, you may be missing some files after the copy.
  7. Click Submit.

Behavior of Copied Materials

While copying, the course availability of the source course is applied to the destination course. If the destination course’s availability is set to unavailable, but the original course is available, the destination course’s availability is changed.

When copying course materials, certain things occur:

  • Content: Course materials, including uploaded files, learning modules, and links are copied. Course information, course documents, assignments and URLs are optional.Assignments created inside lesson plans will not copy properly. Be sure to copy your assignments separately to ensure that everything is correct.
  • Announcements: All announcements are copied.
  • Tests, Surveys, and Pools: All tests and surveys, including questions and options for deploying them are copied. All pools are copied.
  • Calendar: All calendar items are copied to the new course.
  • Dates: Course item and tool dates do not change. To learn how to quickly adjust dates, see Date Management.
  • Discussion Board: Decide whether to include starter posts for each thread in each forum (anonymously) or include only forums with no started posts in the course copy.
  • Grade Center Items and Settings: Items in the Grade Center and their settings such as type, categories, and display options are copied.
  • Group Settings: Settings include the names of the groups, the settings for tool availability, and the discussion board forum names.
  • Contacts: All contacts are copied.
  • Course Settings: If selected, the following settings are copied:
    • Course Name
    • Course Description
    • Course Entry Point
    • Course Design
    • Course Banner
    • Blackboard Tools
    • Building Block Tools
    • Content Tools
    • Course ID
    • Course Availability
    • Guest Access
    • Observer Access
    • Course Duration
    • Enrollment Options
  • Links: Links to parts of a course that are not included in the copy will break when the links appear in the destination course. For example, if a link to a test appears in a course area and you choose not to copy tests, the link to the test will break.
  • Content Areas: Content from content areas appearing on the course menu that have the same name in each course will be added in the same content area. Nothing is removed from the destination course and replaced with content from the source course.
  • Delegated grading: Graders and settings are carried over to the new course when you use the following content exchange functions

Resolving Copied Course Items

When copying content and tools from one course to an existing course, the course menu must resolve itself in the destination course. The following table describes how course menu items are resolved.

 
If Then
A course area in the source course does not exist in the destination course. The area will be added to the course menu in the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name and are of the same type, for example, Web Links, Course Documents, or Content. The content from the source course will be added, but will not replace the content in the area within the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name but are of different types. The course area from the source course will be added to the destination course under a different name. The new name will append an incremental numeral to the name. For example, Course Materials will become Course Materials.